top of page

Polari Prize calls for submissions

These ten books are all past winners of the Polari Prize for LGBTQ+ writing.

The Polari First Book Prize began in 2011 and was won by James Maker. Subsequent winners have included John McCullough, Mari Hannah, Diriye Osman, Kirsty Logan, Paul McVeigh, Saleem Haddad and Fiona Mozley. In 2019 the prize was won by Angela Chadwick for her debut novel XX.

In 2019 we introduced a second prize for non-debuts, which was won by poet Andrew McMillan for his second collection Physical. Andrew and Angela join us as judges for the 2020 Prize. Fellow judges include Cerys Evans, Suzi Feay, Chris Gribble, Rachel Holme, Keith Jarrett and VG Lee. Both judging panels are chaired by Prize founder Paul Burston.

The 2020 Polari Prize awards are for books published in the 12 months up to Feb 1, 2020.

Writers must be born or based in the UK and Ireland.

Sponsors for the prizes are FMcM Associates and DHH Literary Agency.

For further information, please see the Prize page

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page